Hop Along – Bark Your Head Off, Dog (Album)

Hop Along – Bark Your Head Off, Dog Album download

Hop Along – Bark Your Head Off, Dog Album download

Hop Along – Bark Your Head Off, Dog Album download

Hop Along drop off new album titled Bark Your head off, Dog. Hop Along have been teasing their new album on their social media accounts, and enough pieces have finally fallen into place that we’ve managed to sleuth up some details on the follow-up to 2015’s Painted Shut.

“I’ve been thinking about that a lot. That I just deferred to men throughout my life,” songwriter Frances Quinlan says in a press statement. “But by thinking you’re powerless, you’re really robbing yourself. I’m at a point in my life where I’m saying instead, ‘Well, what can I do?’”

Self-produced and recorded at The Headroom in Philadelphia by guitarist Joe Reinhart and the studio’s Kyle Pulley, Bark Your Head Off, Dog is said to broaden the band’s instrumental palette with the addition of strings, vocoder, and harmonies from Chrissy Tashijan of Philly punk band Thin Lips. “How Simple”, the LP’s opening song and lead single. As on Painted Shut, Quinlan’s bravura vocals scale over off-kilter guitar lines and rapidly shifting tempos before landing on an infectious shout-along chorus. Of the song’s themes of self-discovery, Quinlan says, “People romanticize the idea of finding themselves, but when they do, at least in my experience, it can be really difficult. You see how you fail others and how others fail you.”

Saddle Creek Records has sent out a few postcard records featuring the album’s first single, which Shazam says is called “How Simple.”

01 “How Simple”
02 “Somewhere A Judge”
03 “How You Got Your Limp”
04 “Not Abel”
05 “The Fox In Motion”
06 “One That Suits Me”
07 “What The Writer Meant”
08 “Look Of Love”
09 “Prior Things”

Listen to the album below and download it right after.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.