FIFA unveils 16 cities for 2026 World Cup co-hosted by Canada, Mexico and USA

FIFA have announced the cities that would host the 2026 World Cup in United States, Mexico and Canada. The 2026 showpiece will be the first World Cup co-hosted by three countries, and will also be the first World Cup to host 48 nations.According to the world football governing body, 11 of the approved cities are in the United States, which will host 60 games, while Canada has two and Mexico has three. Canada and Mexico will both host ten games each. Korea Republic and Japan were the first countries to co-host a FIFA World Cup in 2002.  Mexico who hosted the 1970 and 1986 tournaments, will become the first country to host or co-host the men’s World Cups three times. 

The United States hosted the 1994 men’s and the 1999 and 2003 women’s World Cups, and will become the first country to host both men’s and women’s World Cup twice. Canada who hosted the 2015 Women’s World Cup, becomes the fifth country to host both men’s and women’s World Cup. The 2026 event will be Canada’s first hosting of the men’s World Cup. Below is the full list of host cities, as announced by FIFA.-United States host cities (11)Atlanta – Mercedes-Benz StadiumBoston – Gillette StadiumDallas – AT&T StadiumHouston – NRG StadiumKansas City – Arrowhead StadiumLos Angeles – Rose Bowl and SoFi StadiumMiami – Hard Rock StadiumNew York/New Jersey – MetLife StadiumPhiladelphia – Lincoln Financial FieldSan Francisco/Bay Area – Levi’s StadiumSeattle – Lumen Field-Canada host cities (2)Toronto – BMO FieldVancouver – BC Place-Mexico host cities (3)Guadalajara – Estadio AkronMexico City – Estadio AztecaMonterrey – Estadio BBVA.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.