Juno Awards 2020 Full Winners List

Shawn Mendes set a truly historic record at the 49th annual Juno Award.

Juno Awards 2020 Full Winners List
Juno Awards 2020 Full Winners List

We present to you the Juno Awards 2020 winners full list. Shawn Mendes became the first artist in Juno Awards history to win single of the year three years running. He won this year for “Señorita,” his sensuous collab with Camila Cabello. He won the last two years with “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back” (2018) and “In My Blood” (2019).

Anne Murray, Glass Tiger and Alanis Morissette had each won the award two years in a row.
Mendes also became just the second artist to win artist of the year two years running. The Weeknd won in 2015-16. This brings Mendes’ collection of Junos to an even 10. The artist, who was born in Pickering, Ontario is just 21.

Alessia Cara, who was originally set to be the show’s host before the coronavirus-forced cancellation, won three awards—album of the year and pop album of the year for her sophomore album, The Pains of Growing, and songwriter of the year.

She’s the first woman to take album of the year since Carly Rae Jepsenwon in that category seven years ago for Kiss. Cara is the first woman to win songwriter of the year since Serena Ryder took the prize six years ago.
Cara had been this year’s top nominee, with six nods.

The Junos were originally slated be held March 15 at the SaskTel Centre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Avril Lavigne won the Fan Choice award—the only award voted on strictly by fans—for the third time. She had won it in 2005 and again last year. Only two other artists have won three or more times since the category was introduced in 2003. Justin Bieber leads with five awards. Michael Bublé has also won it three times. (Bieber was among the nominees in that category this year.)

Torey Lanez became the first artist in Juno Awards history to win rap recording of the year (“Freaky”) and R&B/soul recording of the year (“Feel It Too,” a collab with Jessie Reyez and Tainy). Lanez had the year’s second most nominations (five).

Billie Eilish’s blockbuster debut album When We All Fall Asleep Where Do We Go? won international album of the year. It also took that award at the Brit Awards in the U.K. on Feb. 18. It won the Grammy for album of the year on Jan. 26.

Bryan Adams took adult contemporary album of the year for Shine a Light. It’s his 17th Juno, which puts him in third place among all artists in Juno history, behind only Céline Dion and Murray. The album was also nominated for album of the year, but lost to Cara. Adams teamed with Ed Sheeran to co-write the title track for Shine a Light.

Lennon Stella took the award for breakthrough artist of the year. Neon Dreams won breakthrough group of the year. (Neon Dreams had won the Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class award in 2017. They are the first act to graduate from that award to a competitive Juno.)
Loud Luxury took the award for group of the year. Last year, they won the award for dance recording of the year.

Cara, Neon Dreams, indigenous artist iskwē, and bluegrass ensemble The Dead South (which won traditional roots album of the year) performed during the show.

The show opened with a message of support for the global push for racial equality — and a rather remarkable moment of self-criticism. They noted that, though the Junos got underway in 1970, it took 15 years before they added soul and reggae categories. Moreover, they added, the first rap award wasn’t presented until 1991 and the first award for indigenous music wasn’t presented until 1994.

See the Juno awards 2020 full winners list below:

Juno Fan Choice
Avril Lavigne — WINNER

Single of the Year
“Senorita,” Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello — WINNER

International Album of the Year
When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?, Billie Eilish — WINNER

Album of the Year
The Pains of Growing, Alessia Cara — WINNER

Artist of the Year
Shawn Mendes — WINNER

Group of the Year
Loud Luxury — WINNER

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Lennon Stella — WINNER

Breakthrough Group of the Year
Neon Dreams — WINNER

Songwriter of the Year
Alessia Cara — WINNER

Country Album of the Year
Meghan Patrick, Wild as Me — WINNER

Adult Alternative Album of the Year
A Blemish in the Great Light, Half Moon Run — WINNER

Alternative Album of the Year
Morbid Stuff, Pup — WINNER

Pop Album of the Year
The Pains of Growing, Alessia Cara — WINNER

Rock Album of the Year
A War on Everything, The Glorious Sons — WINNER

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year
Stay Tuned!, Dominique Fils-Aime — WINNER

Jazz Album of the Year: Solo
Migrations, Jacques Kuba Seguin — WINNER

Jazz Album of the Year: Group
Abundance, Ernesto Cervini’s Turboprop — WINNER

Instrumental Album of the Year
Inscape, Alexandra Streliski — WINNER

Francophone Album of the Year
La Nuit Est Une Panthere, Les Louanges — WINNER

Children’s Album of the Year
Greatest Hits, Vol. 4, Big Block Singsong — WINNER

Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber
detach, Angela Schwarzkopf — WINNER

Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble
The John Adams Album — WINNER

Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral
Handel: Dixit Dominus; Bach & Schutz: Motets, Ottawa Bach Choir Conducted by Lisette Canton — WINNER

Classical Composition of the Year
Evta, Ana Sokolovic — WINNER

Rap Recording of the Year
“Freaky,” Torey Lanez — WINNER

Dance Recording of the Year
“Love Me,” Felix Cartal and Lights — WINNER

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Feel It Too, Jessie Reyez, Tory Lanez & Tainy — WINNER

Reggae Recording of the Year
The Warning Track, Lyndon John X — WINNER

Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year
Stories From a Downtown Apartment, Celeigh Cardinal — WINNER

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year
Mohawk, Lee Harvey Osmond — WINNER

Traditional Roots Album of the Year
Sugar & Joy, The Dead South — WINNER

Blues Album of the Year
Mad Love, Dawn Tyler Watson — WINNER

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year
The Advent of Christmas, Matt Maher — WINNER

World Music Album of the Year
Barokan, Djely Tapa — WINNER

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year
Ben Kaplan — WINNER

Recording Engineer of the Year
John ‘Beetle’ Bailey — WINNER

Album Artwork of the Year
Selections From Cuphead — WINNER

Music Video of the Year
“Little Star,” Sarah Legault and Iskwe — WINNER

Electronic Album of the Year
Beyond the Senses, Rezz — WINNER

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year
Play to Win, Striker — WINNER

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year
Shine a Light, Bryan Adams — WINNER

Comedy Album of the Year
Lil Bit of Buddle, Sophie Buddle — WINNER

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.